Original Poetry Forums

Suggestions on Poetry Group

05-07-2009 at 02:39:04 PM

Re: Suggestions on Poetry Group

Thank you for that kind plea. I appreciate it.
Knowing my nature, I probaly will hang around for a while just to see how things evolve before I post any of my work. It has not been easy for me to find a site that does poetry. The last site I had participated in, "GlimmerTrain," went all short stories. Which I like, but I'm currently doing poetry too, and they phased that out.
Another site, turned out to be a rip. They did publish one of my poems though, in a book called "Leaves of Gold." But after additional careful exploration, I found they had a nasty habit of capitalizing on others talent without just compensation. So I left them.
My reason for wanting to join here, is that I'm new at this avenue of self expression. So I would like some feed back and / or critique of my work. I'm not looking for 'ego stroking,' though at times I think everyone needs that just to keep their sanity; but to have actual thoughts on how or where my work could be improved.
My late father and his brother, wrote poetry. I myself do fine art and furniture making, but; in everything, I'm self taught pretty much, and I've recently, due to my graphic art background, began writing too. Anyway...
I understand the need for occassional bickering, but several of the posts in two or three threads, revealed members really went at it. As a "newbie,' it really left me wondering. Like Jaddenblade.
I noted your bio after your comment, and folks with your background are why I would like to associate here. Your experience and association, would be most benneficial to a beginner such as myself. But like some of the others who've complained, I didn't want to get caught up in any conflicts here either......d

05-07-2009 at 06:45:21 PM

Plot121's Condition